One aspect of which makes Christmas for me is the chance to see and spend time with family and friends who you don’t see very often. It just wouldn’t be Christmas without the people who make your life that little bit sparklier (not sure if that’s a word…).

IMG_8817

However, one thing I do not like is the puddings at Christmas which all seem to be heavily laden with ingredients which I am not a fan of…

IMG_8815

Marzipan, mixed peel, dried fruits of every variety and lots of heavy alcohol, they are things which I don’t necessarily enjoy eating at any time of the year, especially after the Christmas meal.

IMG_8805

So, every year I look for an alternative cake to bake. Last year I made Ginger Bundt Cake which went down a storm and I think I’ve found ‘the one’ for this year now in the form of this moistly scrumptious cinnamon and raspberry cake.

IMG_8798

I know raspberries are quite hard to find this time of year but if you have any in your freezer which you froze in summer, they’d be perfect and you can also get frozen raspberries in the supermarkets.

IMG_8823

I feel I can justify this cake as the cinnamon makes it Christmassy but it is also quite a dry flavour so the raspberries and the sour cream give the crumb a denseness.

IMG_8818

I was skeptical at first about using sour cream (the name is not appealing, just me?) but it really does give a lovely texture to the cake. And yes, I have now got my Christmas tree up!

IMG_8821

Ingredients

200g butter
250g caster sugar
2 large eggs
200g sour cream
300g plain flour
3 tsp baking powder
90ml milk
2tsp cinnamon (plus extra for sprinkling)
150g raspberries (plus extra for serving)
Recipe (The Little Elf Bakery)… makes 1 loaf cake
 

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and butter your loaf tin. Cream together the sugar and butter then stir in the sour cream. Add the eggs one at a time then sift in the flour, baking powder and cinnamon. Fold in gently then pour in half to the baking tin. Add the raspberries to the remaining mixture in the bowl then pour into the loaf tin aswell (his is so the raspberries don’t sink to the bottom of the dish). Sprinkle a bit of cinnamon on the top. Bake for 1 1/2 hours or until a skewer comes out clean. The top will start to brown so just stick some tin foil over the top. When cooked through, turn out onto a cooling rack and then serve.

IMG_8820

Serve with vanilla ice cream and extra raspberries, or, you could blitz the raspberries in a blender, adding a little icing sugar to taste, and pour this over the top of the cake.

IMG_8808

