Tags

, , , ,

A Christmas miracle has occurred… I can eat a mince pie and actually, it’s not too awful. Mincemeat is still, in my opinion, a very acquired taste yet one which I think I’m coming round to, slowly.

IMG_8765 (2)

Now I just need to conquer ‘Christmas Pudding’ and I’ll be a real Christmas foodie (minus the turkey!).

IMG_8758

As of yet, I have not put up my tree as I am being very lazy. I thought I had put it on top of my wardrobe with all the mismatched baubles, but apparently it got shut in the back of the deep, dark cupboard along with the rest of the decorations.

IMG_8768

So, even though I would love to have my tree up I can’t be bothered, at the moment, to go rooting around in a cupboard with no light which quite possibly could contain mice.

IMG_8766

For now I will make do with homemade paper snowflakes and a string of golden fairy lights.

IMG_8760 (2)

Ingredients

325g plain flour (Plus extra for dusting)
200g butter
100g caster sugar
Jar of mincemeat
Recipe (The Little Elf Bakery)… makes 11 mince pies
 

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and line a baking tray with baking parchment. Rub together the flour, butter and caster sugar in a bowl until it comes together, then knead until smooth. Flour a surface and roll out the pastry. Cut 11 circles and place on the baking tray, then, put one and a half teaspoons of mincemeat into the centre of each. Roll out the pastry again and cut another 11 circles. Gently place the circular pastry on top of the mincemeat and push around the sides , being careful not to break the pastry. Cut a little star and place atop the mince pie parcels. Using a fork, go around the edges of the mince pies then brush with milk and sprinkle sugar over the top. Place in the oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown. When baked, sprinkle a little more sugar over the top then leave to cool on a cooling rack. (I used a 78mm circular cutter)

IMG_8755 (2)

Make them fresh on Christmas Eve and leave out for Santa (and a couple of carrots for Rudolph)

IMG_8774 (2)

