Tags

,

This is my first Christmas bake this year and the smells coming from the oven has just put me in the festive mood.

IMG_8729 (2)

Last year I wasn’t really feeling the whole Christmas thing but this December, lights, songs, food, clothes, presents, cards, the whole package, I am well and truly excited.

IMG_8741

With this being said, I bring you gingerbread. One of the things I most associate with this time of year. When I was younger I never really like the stuff but my tastebuds have changed and I can’t get enough.

IMG_8736

This isn’t soft, it’s a very crispy biscuit but once it’s hit your mouth it melts and the spices explode in your mouth which is rather yummy, I’m sure Father Christmas wouldn’t mind having this left by the chimney.

IMG_8735 (2)

They would also make really cute Christmas present wrapped in beautiful paper or in a cellophane bag tied with string and a homemade gift tag.

IMG_8747

Ingredients

100g butter
100g soft, dark brown sugar
1 egg
100g treacle
100g golden syrup
450g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground mixed spice
a pinch of salt
Recipe (The Little Elf Bakery)… makes 30 biscuits
 
Cream the butter and sugar together then add the egg, golden syrup and treacle. Stir well together then add the flour, spices and salt. Mix until the dough comes into a bowl then stick in the fridge for 30 minutes. 
 
Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and line a baking tray with baking parchment when you take out of the dough from the fridge and flour a surface. Roll out until 5mm in thickness and using a cookie cutter shape and put on the baking parchment. Bake for 10 minutes or slightly golden on top. Watch the biscuits vigilantly as they can burn very quickly.
 
IMG_8744
 
Use as a base for cheesecakes for a festive twist.
 
IMG_8749
