Tags

, , , , ,

Long time, no see… sorry about that! I’ve started my A-levels and they’ve just monopolized my time for a couple of months and that has left very little time to bake. However, it was a friend’s birthday and I had to bake a thank you present, a double dose of baking and I am feeling inspired.

IMG_8293

These cookies were made for my best friend in Germany as it’s her birthday (Happy Birthday Sophie!) and they smell and look delicious.

IMG_8272

The raisins and oats are soft and chewy compared with the crunchy, nuttiness of the hazelnuts which is delicious, and I found the hazelnuts surprisingly festive.

IMG_8300

IMG_8299 (2)

Speaking of festivity, have you noticed the the shops filling up with Christmas related shtuff and the new John Lewis advert? The bunny and the bear  are quite adorable.

IMG_8295

The coffee shops are also getting in the spirit with their ranges of hot beverages. I sampled Costa Coffee’s ‘Chocolate and Orange Mocha Latte’ which I would absolutely recommend, it is scrumptious.

IMG_8275

As you can tell, I am getting in the mood for Christmas this year, the excitement is building up… expect some Christmassy recipes soon!

IMG_8296

Ingredients:

85g butter
75g soft brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
75g porridge oats
75g raisins
40g hazelnuts
50g plain flour
1 egg, beaten 
¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda
½ tsp salt
Recipe (Annabel Karmel)… makes 9 cookies
 

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Stir in all of the remaining ingredients until everything is completely combined. Butter the bottom of a baking tray or line with grease-proof paper, then using a spoon take the mixture and place onto the baking tray. Gently flatten then place in the oven for 12-15 minutes or golden brown on top. Take out of the oven and leave to cool, they will be soft but will harden slightly as they cool.

IMG_8267

I would suggest enjoying some of these warm out of the oven…

IMG_8277

 

