Tags

, , ,

Finally the sun seems to be peeping around the clouds, meaning that (fingers crossed) summer is finally on its way. I love summer as its when all the delicious fruits come out, strawberries, raspberries and plums!

IMG_9663

I got these plums the other day from a supermarket but the wonderful thing is as I live in the countryside there are many places which have PYO (pick your own).

IMG_9654

I’d tell everyone to pick their own. It brings back many happy memories from my childhood when I did it with Little Elf.

IMG_9677

It always seems so much more satisfying and there is nothing better than eating a strawberry you’ve picked yourself.

IMG_9665

I wasn’t sure what the flavour combination of plum and almonds would taste right together.

IMG_9674

It was a little bit of a shock (but a good shock) when I first bit into the cupcake. It tasted yummy but the flavours weren’t what I was expecting, at all (I don’t really know what I was expecting)!

IMG_9657

To get the sponge really fluffy, beat it really well when you’re creaming the butter and sugar together.

IMG_9668

Ingredients:

3 eggs
110g self-raising flour
150g caster sugar
50g ground almonds
150g butter
1 1/2tsp almond extract
6 plums
Recipe (The Little Elf Bakery)… makes 12 cupcakes
 

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and line a cupcake tin with 12 cupcake cases. In a bowl cream the butter and sugar together, add in the almond extract and stir it in. Whisk the eggs in a cup and add them in little by little, beating the eggs in to the creamed mixture (don’t worry if it looks a bit scrambled eggy). Sift in the flour and ground almonds and gently stir until all of the flour is stirred in, then beat for about 30 seconds to get a smooth mixture. Spoon into the cupcake cases and set to one side. Cut the plums in half (removing the stone) then carefully press into the centre of the cupcake cases. Don’t press the plum right down to the bottom as the cupcake will rise around it. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes then take out and leave to cool on a baking rack.

IMG_9679

For a sweeter taste, sprinkle the top of the plum with sugar before you bake.

IMG_9672

