Happy Mother’s Day! This year I made my mum this cake. It doesn’t look very impressive but don’t judge a book by its cover (or a cake). Normally, I would pour icing over a lemon cake, however the recipe I used instructed to make a lemon syrup.

IMG_9542

The cake smells absolutely amazing.

IMG_9487

As I’ve been making alot of chocolate cakes I thought it would be nice to make something lighter (and my mum doesn’t like chocolate flavoured things).

IMG_9531

I would say it’s because Spring is nearly here but it’s snowing.

IMG_9509

Yes, snowing. In the middle of March.

IMG_9528

Typical British weather

IMG_9544

This cake took about 1 1/2 to cook so don’t be worried if it takes a while. Just cover the top with tin foil so it doesn’t burn. I’m sure if you did it in two halves it would take less time but I baked it all in one.

IMG_9510

If you baked 2 halves you could fill it with lemon curd.

IMG_9530

Ingredients:

Cake:
1 large lemon
225g caster sugar
260g self-raising flour
Pinch of Salt
1tsp bicarbonate of soda
260g butter
5 eggs
 
Syrup:
150g caster sugar
Juice of 1 lemon
Recipe (The Independent on Sunday)… makes 1 cake
 

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and grease a cake tin. Cream the butter and sugar together. Grate the zest of the lemon then tip it in to the creamed mixture. Whisk the eggs then add them little by little. Don’t be worried if it curdles, this will even out when you add the flour. Next, sift the flour, salt and bicarb of soda in. At first mix these in using a figure of 8, then quickly beat the mixture for 30 seconds. Pour the mixture into the tin and bake until a skewer comes out clean.

For the syrup, juice 1 lemon then stir in the sugar. When you take the cake out of the oven pour this over it straight away, then leave to cool on a cooling rack.

IMG_9534

Optionally, sprinkle with lemon zest for presentation

IMG_9527

