Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m going to Paris, the city of love (and really good baking)! I am so excited, however I had a little dilemma what to take to my family over there? I decided to make a typically English thing and shortbread popped into my head. However to make it more exciting I thought adding caramel and chocolate would just be the caramel on the shortbread!

IMG_9211

My first attempt of making caramel ended in disaster. It smelt like sick (sorry) and was a light yellow colour, not the rich honey/ umber colour of proper caramel.

IMG_9237

What I realized was that instead of bunging the sugar, cream and butter and melting them altogether you do it in stages (duh!).

IMG_9213

For my second attempt I melted the sugar first gently using a whisk to make sure all the sugar was involved. As soon as all the sugar granules had dissolved I added the butter and again, gently whisked until everything was melted.

IMG_9218

I then took this mixture off of the heat and slowly added in the double cream, gently whisking. Then, let it cool in the pan for a couple of minutes then tip into a something made of glass, like a jug. Leave to cool to room temperature

IMG_9240

After always wanting to make good caramel with that gorgeous dark colour and thick consistency, it’s such a satisfying feeling for it to finally be made!

IMG_9216

The caramel which I made does not include condensed milk. As some of you may know, I am not a big fan of condensed milk!

IMG_9228

Ingredients

Shortbread:
50g caster sugar
150g unslated butter
175g plain flour
25g rice flour
1tsp vanilla extract
Caramel:
210g caster sugar
85g unsalted butter
120ml double cream
Topping:
200g milk/ dark chocolate (your preference)
Recipe (The Little Elf Bakery)… makes 12
 

Put all the ingredients for the shortbread into a bowl and rub together so that everything combines and makes a ball. Grease your baking tin and put the shortbread into it, pressing it down so it is compact and flat. Put into the fridge to set for 25 minutes. Whilst the shortbread is in the fridge, pre-heat your oven to 160 degrees celsius. When 25 minutes is up put the shortbread in the oven for 20 minutes or golden brown on top.

When the shortbread is finished take out of the oven and leave to cool in the baking tray. Make the caramel (instructions, see above) then leave to cool at room temperature. Then tip onto the shortbread so there is a nice even layer. Leave to set (this should take about 5 minutes, so that no caramel goes onto your finger when you gently touch it)

Boil the kettle and make a bain-marie. Melt the chocolate and then pour onto the caramel. Leave to set then cut. I think these actually taste better when they are cold.

IMG_9231

You could also melt some white chocolate and drizzle it on top to make these more impressive!

IMG_9212

