Tags

, , ,

It’s February already! The days seem to fly by so quickly (and luckily they seem to be getting lighter as well)!So, I’ve never tried brazil nuts. I hijacked them from the shopping over Christmas and have intended to make brazil nut brownies ever since. There hasn’t been the right time but, then it was my best friends 16th birthday and I tried to make doughnuts (my first baking disaster) so I made her brownies instead!

IMG_8980

I used to intensely dislike brownies with nuts, just like I used to dislike KitKats. But as my taste buds have developed I have realized the error of my ways.

IMG_9006

The nuts add a lovely crunchy texture (duh!) to the brownie and contrast beautifully with the sweetness and almost overpowering flavour of the dark chocolate.

IMG_8981

Traditionally, I think brownies are made with hazelnuts but I like the presence of brazil nuts as they are bigger and the taste is yummy!

IMG_9003

You don’t need particularly dark chocolate for brownies. I just used plain chocolate from the supermarkets own brand and it works just as well as expensive dark chocolate.

IMG_9001

To make sure they’re gooey in the middle, gently shake the tin while they’re in the oven and there should be a slight wobble. This is a good way to make sure it’s sticky but not uncooked in the middle.

IMG_8988

If the sides start to burn you should just put tin foil over the brownies so that the edges aren’t burnt but gently crisp!

IMG_8995

When you cut the brownies you get a marble effect of the nuts running through the brownie.

IMG_9010

Ingredients:

100g unsalted butter
200g dark chocolate
4 eggs (I used large)
250g caster sugar
100g plain flour
1tsp baking powder
180g brazil nuts
Recipe (The Little Elf Bakery)… makes 9 brownie squares
 

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and butter a baking tin. Make a bain-marie and place the dark chocolate and butter and melt them together. Stir constantly, when finished, take off of the heat and leave to cool. Whilst this is cooling crack the eggs and tip the sugar into a bowl and whisk together until thick and there is trail (you can whisk by hand or using an electric mixer). To this, add the  butter/chocolate mixture and stir so everything is combined. Then, sift in the flour.  Put the nuts into a sandwich bag then wrap in a tea towel. Place on a flat surface then bash with a rolling bin to get more edible sized pieces (there is no standard size, just keep smashing until you get the size you want). Add these to the mixture and stir until the nuts are evenly distributed. Tip into the baking tin and bake for 45 minutes.

When they are finished leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes then get them onto a cooling rack. Cut into pieces then try one hot with vanilla ice cream.

IMG_8998

Optionally, dust with icing sugar.

IMG_8981

