Tags

, , , ,

In a recent post I admitted to not really feeling very festivey. This, happily, has all changed thanks to a bit of Mariah Carey and present wrapping. So to keep me in the Christmas spirit I have another peppermint recipe which is officially my new flavouring obsession. (And yes, before you say it, the colour of the fudge isn’t the most appealing, but you can get away with it because it’s green and green is christmassy!)

IMG_8165

This recipe was inspired by a stall I saw at a farmer’s market over the weekend. There were lots of fantastic, local produce (and free samples). One of the stalls which had me coming pack for seconds was a fudge stall. Now, I am not normally one to like fudge but then I tried their milk chocolate and mint choc chip fudge. Yum, yum, yum. I was smitten as a kitten.

IMG_8151

These are another little treat that you could give to people for Christmas.

IMG_8171

Now these fudges divided opinion. The adults really liked them because they aren’t overly sweet. However, for this reason, they didn’t go down very well with the kids. Personally I didn’t mind them, but they didn’t have the yum factor which the farmer’s market fudge had.

IMG_8183

So, my new year’s resolution is to find a delicious fudge recipe. And, I think to do this I’m going to have to ban condensed milk from the kitchen cupboard. Nothing good ever comes from making things with condensed milk!

IMG_8175

Ingredients:

397g can Carnation Condensed Milk
150ml milk
450g demerara sugar
115g butter
2-3tsp peppermint flavouring
80g milk chocolate
Green food colouring 
Recipe (Adapted From Carnation)… makes 25
 

Line a baking tray with baking parchment. Pour the milk, sugar and butter and green food colouring in a saucepan over a low heat. Stir until the sugar dissolves completely. Bring to the boil and simmer over a low heat for 10-15 minutes. Make sure you stir the mixture continuously, scraping the base of the pan. You should do this until a soft ball of fudge is formed when a little of the mixture is dropped into a jug of ice-cold water. Remove from the heat and whisk the fudge until thick. Pour into the baking tin and leave to cool at room temperature, don’t put in the fridge. One it’s cooled melt the chocolate and spread over the top.

IMG_8152

 
